Central Ohio Public Information Network Board of Directors' Meeting Feb. 11, 2009

Next Meeting: 2 p.m. on March 11 at Columbus Public Health, Room 119E

Attending: Mitzi Kline (chair) and Kim Smith (vice chair/secretary), Franklin County Board of Health; Sgt. Rich Weiner and Amanda Ford, Columbus Police Department; Emma Speight, city of Upper Arlington; Dan Kochensparger (treasurer), Upper Arlington Fire Department; Bret Atkins, Ohio Department of Health; and Susan Geier, Columbus Public Health

January Minutes:Smith made a motion to approve the January 13 minutes with a second by Weiner. Minutes approved. No corrections.

Letters of Agreement:

- Kline submitted signed Letters of Agreement from Galion City Health District (jurisdiction), City of Powell (member) and Franklin County Sheriff's Office (member and jurisdiction). Kochensparger made a motion to accept the signed LOAs with a second by Weiner. Motion approved. Originals will be maintained by the board vice chair/secretary.
- As part of the membership committee, Speight will follow up with the city of Powell to get a jurisdiction LOA as well as other suburban PIOs at an upcoming meeting next month.

Membership Applications:

- Kline submitted 21 membership applications. Several were incomplete (without certifications or not signed). A motion was made by Atkins to approve the completed applications with a second by Kochensparger. Motion approved.
- The following were accepted into membership and will receive a confirmation email:
 - Jeremiah Aigler, Wyandot County Health Department
 - Bret Atkins, Ohio Department of Health
 - Anne Brown, City of Worthington
 - Deborah Cox, Franklin County Board of Health
 - Sandra Crossland, Galion City Health Department
 - Leslie Dybiec, Washington Township
 - Mitzi Kline, Franklin County Board of Health
 - Dan Kochensparger, City of Upper Arlington Fire Division
 - Alice Hohl, Salvation Army in Greater Columbus
 - Aaron Miller, City of Upper Arlington
 - Jeff Robinson, City of Powell
 - Emma Speight, City of Upper Arlington
 - Matthew Stonerock, Logan County Health District
- Members will be notified about subcommittee assignment based on their membership application.

• No action was taken on the incomplete applications. The membership committee will follow up with those applicants to get the forms completed, and the committee will also maintain the membership database.

Subcommittee Updates: Members presented subcommittee updates. These updates and meeting notes are posted online at <u>http://www.copinworks.org/committees.html</u> The JIC logistics subcommittee has yet to formally meet. Kochensparger and Weiner reported that the JIC plan will be reviewed annually, and a JIC set up review will be conducted before the JIC drill April 29. Additionally, the subcommittee will focus on alternate facilities.

Board Business:

- The COPIN Web site (and Dreamweaver software) will continue to be maintained through Franklin County Board of Health. All committee chairs (or their vice chairs) are responsible for submitting updates and meeting notes.
- Franklin County Board of Health has also agreed to pay for the initial printing of COPIN brochures (1,000 each at a cost of \$770).
- After Hours On Call COPIN number will continue to go to Kline until the partnership with Central Ohio Poison Center can be finalized.
- It was agreed that board members will track the time they spend on COPIN activities (dating back to January 1, 2009) to help assess the value of COPIN.
- Board members will work together to create a seasonal newsletter to be posted on the Web site and a link then sent to the membership. Each board member will submit content to a template.
- Smith, who is moving out of state, officially submitted her written registration effective February 11 at the conclusion of the meeting. Motion to accept made by Geier with a second by Weiner. Resignation (sadly) accepted. She was thanked for her hard work and dedication to COPIN and for everything she has done for the various committees she has worked on.
- Kline nominated Geier to become the board's vice chair/secretary. Speight made a motion to approve with a second by Kochensparger. Motion approved.
- Speight took the position of membership committee chair with Amanda Ford serving as vice chair.
- The COPIN Web site will be updated to reflect these changes.
- Motion to adjourn by Ford with second by Atkins.